Follow by Email

05 December 2011

V8 Supercars Gala Awards Dinner In Sin City Sydney - 5th December 2011


Motorsport Events Telstra Sydney Australia News Entertainment News

The V8 Supercars may be off the track, with some the winners and losers known, but now its time for boys and girls to celebrate the year that was.

This years Sydney Telstra 500 was one of the hottest and most exciting and the news keeps speeding along.

The drivers, teams, officials and guests came together this evening for the 13th Annual V8 Supercars Gala Awards Dinner at the awesome Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre in Darling Harbour.

Media and guests witnessed Jamie Whincup snatch his third V8 Supercars Championship trophy.

The Team Vodafone driver also got a sweet championship ring plus the Australian Touring Car Championship from CAMS.

Championship runner-up Craig Lowndes and third-placed gent Mark Winterbottom were acknowledged for their campaigns.

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winners Garth Tander and Nick Percat were also applauded for their closest-ever winning margin at The Great Race in October.

Ford lapped up seeing Glenn Seton inducted into the V8 Supercars Hall of Fame. The 2 time Australian Touring Car Champion enjoyed a standing ovation and applause as he was now the 15th member of the ‘Grid of Champions’.

Craig Lowndes snatched the Barry Sheene Medal for the third time, with teammate Whincup missing out, and Banana Bender Chaz Mostert nabbed the Mike Kable Young Gun Award for best first-year driver after finishing 6th in the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series.

Fujitsu Series Champion Andrew Thompson was presented with his championship trophy, finishing an impressive season for good guys at Triple Eight Race Engineering

The V8 Supercars Gala Awards Dinner will be broadcast on V8Xtra via Channel Seven this Saturday 10th December at High Noon (Eastern Daylight Time).

2011 V8 Supercars Gala Awards:

V8 Supercars Champion: Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone)

V8 Supercars Runner-Up: Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone)

V8 Supercars Third-Place: Mark Winterbottom (Orrcon Steel FPR)

Barry Sheene Medal: Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone)

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winners: Garth Tander/Nick Percat (Toll Holden Racing Team)

V8 Supercars Hall of Fame Inductee: Glenn Seton

Champion Team of The Year: TeamVodafone

Champion Manufacturer: Holden

ARMOR ALL Pole Position Award: Jamie Whincup

ARMOR ALL Best Presented Team Award: TeamVodafone

Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series Champion: Andrew Thompson

Mike Kable Young Gun Award: Chaz Mostert

Privateers Cup Champion: Jack Perkins

Most Improved Team Award: #1, Toll Holden Racing Team

Event/Promoter of the Year: Clipsal 500 Adelaide

Best Volunteers Group: L&H 500, Phillip Island

Media Award: Ray Berghouse (Chevron Publishing)

Appreciation of Service: Roger Cook, Basil Scaffidi, James Erskine

References: Wires, Google News, V8 Supercars, Media Man News, ABC News


V8 Supercars

Sydney Olympic Park

Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre

Channel Seven

Seven West Media

Eva Rinaldi Photography Flickr

Eva Rinaldi Photography

Splash News

Media Man News

Music News Australia

Website Network

Media Man Int

Media Man

Media Man News

Media Man Entertainment